| Guarded |

It’s funny the things that the Lord starts teaching you and then you figure out why He was working so hard to teach you something. 

I have always struggled with never letting anyone close to me because I didn’t want to get hurt. Eventually, my pastor got ahold of me and showed me that putting up those barriers was no way to live. 

I finally began to open my heart and let people in. The issue with doing this, was that I was never taught how to guard my heart correctly. I let them in and then I proceeded to let them stomp on my heart as well. I just kept getting bitter and didn’t understand why people would do this to me after I let them in. I didn’t know that through all of it, the best way to guard my heart I needed to learn how to have a pure heart. 

No matter who hurt me, or who loved me, I would be able to love them with God’s love. 

Leave a comment